The Boy Who Once Chased Cats

I’d like to take a moment to tell you about the new book I’m working on entitled “The Boy Who Once Chased Cats.”

The idea for the story originated from a dream. I know. I know. How cliche. But, thats exactly how it happened.

In my dream I found myself in an old barn. It was dark and I was disoriented. I had a terrible feeling I was not alone. Something was hiding in the darkness, watching me.

At some point fear overtook me. I ran away and was chased down an old dirt road until I came to an old farmhouse. I opened the door and went inside. As I walked down a hallway I passed by a door. I looked into the room and saw a giant cat. He was standing in front of a full length mirror dressed in slacks and a shirt busily tying his tie.

To my surprise he turned slowly, looked right at me and said in a low even tone.

“Hello?”

That’s when I woke up. It was totally bizarre. However, the images and feelings stayed with me throughout the day. That evening when I got home from work, It was still on my mind. So much so that I decided to write it all down in my notebook.

The idea sat on the back burner for quite awhile. Months ago I took the idea up again and started developing characters and a plot.

What resulted from that endeavor is a 46 page chapter book aimed at middle grade readers. I believe the story is relevant to boys and girls alike. Perhaps more so to boys than girls.

I had a lot of fun writing it. It’s been amazing to see this dream come to life complete with illustrations.

You can read a sample online by following the link provided below or by going to my website. The booklet contains a preview of the first chapter and illustrations by Luke Spooner, an up and coming artist in the UK.

Anyway, I hope you’ll check it out and let me know your impressions. Leave a comment here or send me an email. Send me a tweet, FB message or whatever. I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks,
Russell

http://rkwhitehead.wix.com/russellwhitehead

http://tinyurl.com/o3p9dee

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/f87/67955371/files/2015/01/img_0708.jpg

Leave a Reply

